Catalogue Number
Release Date
9th November 2018
Side One: 1. Wedding Song / 2. Epic (part one) / 3. Way Down Hadestown / 4. Songbird (intro) / 5. Hey, Little Songbird. Side Two: 1. Gone, I'm Gone / 2. When The Chips Are Down / 3. Wait For Me / 4. Why We Built The Wall / 5. Our Lady Of The Underground. Side Three: 1. Flowers (Eurydice's Song) / 2. Nothing Changes / 3. If It's True / 4. Papers (Hades Finds Out) / 5. How Long?. Side Four: 1. Epic (part two) / 2. Lover's Desire / 3. His Kiss, The Riot / 4. Doubt Comes In / 5. I Raise My Cup To Him
Hadestown sees Ana´s Mitchell joined by a host of guest contributors including Ani Di Franco, Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), The Haden Triplets, Greg Brown and Ben Knox Miller of the Low Anthem. Based upon the ancient Greek myth of the poet Orpheus and his doomed quest to rescue his wife Eurydice from the underworld, Hadestown evokes an American depression-era past, the global financial troubles leading into 2010 (though it was written before the stock market collapse), and a post-apocalyptic future. Ana´s, who sings the part of Eurydice, the character whose (metaphoric) death propels Orpheus into "Hadestown" is joined by a veritable Who's Who of modern indie folk and rock on the release. Justin Vernon of Bon Iver plays Orpheus; Greg Brown is Hades, Lord of the Underworld ("king of the kingdom of dirt"); Ani DiFranco plays Hades' strong-willed, subversive wife, Persephone; the Haden Triplets (Petra, Rachel, and Tanya) are the Greek chorus-like Fates and Ben Knox Miller of The Low Anthem is the messenger Hermes. Together, they create a world where people hide behind walls in a misguided attempt to preserve their 'freedom' and protect their riches. To coincide with the theatrical run of Hadestown at the National Theatre, from November 2nd to January 26th 2019, this classic album is now available as a limited edition 2LP set, featuring 6 individual 10x10" art prints of the Hadestown characters, illustrated by Peter Nevins.